Selected Awards and Honors

Hugo Award to No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters. Best Related Work. Worldcon76, 19 August 2018
2017 Hugo Award for Best Related WorkWords Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, (Small Beer). Worldcon75, Helsinki, Finland. “First Time Ever that Two People Named Ursula Got the Hugo Award!!!” — Ursula , 21 August 2017
Ursula voted into American Academy of Arts and LettersAAAL Press release 27 February 2017
Kurd Lasswitz Award to Ursula’s Verlorene Paradiese (Paradises Lost). September 2015
NBF Distinguished Contribution to American Letters December 2014
National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. November 2014


UC Riverside’s Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award July 2012
Cheek by Jowl won the 2010 Locus Award. 26 June 2010
Freedom from Religion Foundation: Emperor Has No Clothes Award Acceptance Speech. 8 November 2009
Lavinia won the 2009 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel. 27 June 2009
The Mythopoeic Society nominated Lavinia for its 2009 Best Fantasy Novel Mythopoeic Award
Powers, the third book of the Annals of the Western Shore, won SFWA’s Nebula Award for best novel of 2008.
Oregon State Library has chosen The Lathe of Heaven, Searoad, and The World Begins Here (ed. Glen A. Love, including “The Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas”) for its “150 Books for Oregon’s Sesquicentennial” [1.6Mb PDF] (14 February 2009)}
2006 Maxine Cushing Gray Fellowship for Writers for distinguished body of work. Washington Center for the Book.
2004 Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement (YALSA)
2004 Arbuthnot Lecturer (American Library Association)
2003 Grand Master, SFWA
2003 Locus Readers Award: “The Wild Girls”
2003 Asimov’s Readers Award: “The Wild Girls”
2003 Endeavor AwardTales from Earthsea
2002 PEN/Malamud Award for Short Fiction
2002 Willamette Writers Lifetime Achievement Award
2002 Locus Readers AwardsTales from Earthsea, “The Bones of the Earth”
2002 Locus Readers AwardsTales from Earthsea, “The Finder”
2001 Endeavor AwardThe Telling
2001 Locus Readers Awards for The Telling and “The Birthday of the World.”
2001 Lifetime Achievement Award, Pacific NW Booksellers Assoc. Ursula Interview.
2000 Robert Kirsch Lifetime Achievement AwardL.A. Times
1998 Bumbershoot Arts Award, Seattle - Introduction: “Ursula K. Le Guin: Mutinous Navigator,” by Vonda N. McIntyre
1997 Pulitzer Prize shortlistUnlocking the Air
1997 James Tiptree Jr. Award for “Mountain Ways”
1996 Locus Readers Award for Four Ways to Forgiveness
1996 James Tiptree Jr. Retrospective Award for Left Hand of Darkness
1995 Nebula Award for “Solitude”
1995 Theodore Sturgeon Award for “Forgiveness Day”
1995 Locus Readers Award for “Forgiveness Day”
1994 James Tiptree, Jr, Award for “The Matter of Seggri”
1995 Asimov’s Readers Award for “Forgiveness Day”
1995 Hubbub annual poetry award for “Semen”
1992 H.L.Davis Fiction Award from OLA for Searoad
1991 Harold Vursell Award, American Academy & Institute of Arts & Letters
1991 Pushcart Prize for “Bill Weisler”
1990 Nebula Award for Tehanu
1988 Hugo Award for “Buffalo Gals”
1988 International Fantasy Award for “Buffalo Gals”
1987 Prix Lectures-Jeunesse for Very Far Away from Anywhere Else (tr. Laroche)
1986 Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for Fiction for Always Coming Home
1985 Always Coming Home shortlisted for National Book Award
1984 Locus Award for The Compass Rose
1979 Gandalf Award (Grand Master of Fantasy)
1979 Lewis Carroll Shelf Award for A Wizard of Earthsea
1976 Jupiter Award for “The Diary of the Rose”
1975 Nebula Award for The Dispossessed
1975 Hugo Award for The Dispossessed
1975 Nebula Award for “The Day Before the Revolution”
1975 Jupiter Award for “The Day Before the Revolution”
1974 Hugo Award for “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas”
1973 Locus Award for The Lathe of Heaven
1973 Hugo Award for The Word for World is Forest
1972 National Book Award for Children’s Books for The Farthest Shore
1972 Newbery Silver Medal Award for The Tombs of Atuan
1969 Hugo Award for The Left Hand of Darkness
1969 Nebula Award for The Left Hand of Darkness
1968 Boston Globe-Horn Book award for A Wizard of Earthsea